Speak Up

20 02 2013

Did you ever wonder what it would be like to stand up in the church when the officiant speaks those fate-tempting words,

“If anyone knows . . . speak now . . . “

Speak now.  It is your duty.

Today, in a much less emotional setting, for sure, I found myself feeling a little like that dissenting wedding guest when I, as a non-profit art group board member, voted against a motion that was widely assumed to have unanimous approval.

I had to raise my hand in front of the rest of the board – no safe secret ballot – and vote “no.”

It was obvious that there were plenty of yea votes to pass the motion, so why’d I bother?  Why did I rattle the cages of my fellow board members when I knew the outcome would not be affected?  I did it because it is my duty to work on behalf of the membership and the best interest of the organization.

I was not able to stop this motion, but I did raise an eyebrow or two – and perhaps some courage in others for similar situations down the line.  Asked, I spoke. It was uncomfortable, but far less that had I “gone along to get along” or simply abstained.

When you are asked about something that is important to you – or to the people who’ve put their trust in you to speak on their behalf – know why you feel the way you do and speak.

dog-speaking


Actions

Information

One response

21 02 2013
MARIA ETTEL

A MEDAL FOR VALOR!!
IT SHOULD NOT BE UNUSUAL FOR US TO SPEAK OUR TRUTH, PAULA. WE NEED TO SPEAK OUR HEARTS IN THE LIGHT AS WE BELIEVE IN THE DARK.
CONGRATULATIONS! XO XO XO XO

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.