I Could Do That!

10 04 2024

As a frequent visitor to art and fine craft shows, I have heard that statement uttered more times than I care to recall. It’s meant as an insult to someone’s work. It lands on my ears as a sad comment by an uninformed and jealous person. I would love to tell every one of these smug and snooty (insecure and defensive) folks that it would be terrific if they WOULD make (whatever) that (is) – and not for the reasons I used to wish it.

Truth is, it’s good for people to try their hand at a craft or art medium. It can open up their eyes to a new appreciation of artists and artisans, of course, but it can also open up their world to the possibilities presented by learning to enjoy the process of creativity.

I am a serial medium-lover. I have tried loads of craft and art projects. My first foray was vitreous enamel, for which I have a full studio and have had some outside validation for my abilities.

Not enough for Miss Muse, I have yards and yards of quilting fabric; bins full of felting fiber; a collection of crewel wool, embroidery floss, beads; and, my current flame, sheets of stained glass.

Yes, I display the fruits of my infidelity on my walls, my tables, and in my yard. No it’s not as good as works of the generous instructor-artisans who have helped me learn. Yes, in fact, it has cost me multiples of the amount for which I might have purchased things from those instructor-artisans . . .

What the hell?!

What did I get by following the “I could do that” idea seriously?

I get:

  1. The pleasure of hanging out with great artisans who also teach.
  2. An increased enjoyment of the works I have purchased because I understand the techniques and skills used to create them.
  3. The freedom to feel creative, even when I fail to execute my vision.
  4. A feeling of peace in knowing that there is always success in the effort.

Oh, occasionally, I also get something I can be proud to say, “I could do that and I DID!”

Wet Felted Vessel.
Quilted Wall Hanging for a Tuxedo Cat Lover.
Mermaid for me.

Actions

Information

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.