Hitting the Snooze Button

13 03 2024

Spring is not here, yet, in my little central Pennsylvania hamlet, but it sure feels like it today. The sun’s shining and it’s seventy degrees and my yard is taunting me with its dead perennial stalks, trees and shrubs begging to be pruned, and what seems to be every leaf from every tree in the neighborhood blanketing my flower beds.

Because I promised the little creatures who call my yard home and surely are not ready to awaken fully, I did not pick up those nasty leaves. I did not cut down my ornamental grasses. I could not, however, resist the siren song of my Felco No. 2s, so I headed for my rugosa rose bush. I got down on my knees and began the delicate operation of not getting shredded by my thug princess rugosa’s serious thorns, only to stop almost as soon as I’d started.

Shhhh.

No housekeeping service today, please.

Sleepy ladybug in the leaves at the base of the rosebush.

Okay, Mother Nature, I will wait a few more weeks, until after the vernal equinox and until warmer temperatures are more reliable. I’ll find other things to occupy my hands and my brain until after check-out time in my back yard

. . .

and one of those things is standing on my head with my D90 and my macro lens to take photos of one of my early blooming favorites. Thank goodness for flowers in March!

I’m not patient, but I WILL wait. I am sure my non-people tenants will appreciate it. They’re worth it.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.