Assume THIS Position

29 01 2020

Before we even get started, yes, I know about the “if you assume” maxim and I know that there are naughty insinuations regarding the phrase “assume the position.”  Okay now, moving forward . . .

I challenge you to assume this position: no matter what you’re dealing with, you are in a better position than everyone else you encounter.

Of course, it’s a ridiculous suggestion.

Of course, I expect us all to do it anyway.

Why?

Because it will make us kinder and that is an absolutely good thing.

Outward appearances are often deceiving, so let’s just put them aside and try really hard to recall that everyone has bad days.  Everyone has heartache, everyone has illness, everyone  has problems – just like you and I do.  While we are working on giving other adults some slack, let’s make doubly sure we practice this for kids.  No child wants to be perceived as bothersome, let alone dirty or disgusting, so just don’t go there. Don’t blame others for conditions you don’t know how have befallen them. Seriously, I am talking to me – and you – here and we need to do better.

Assume the position:  although my burdens may be heavy, I have no idea of the weight on the shoulders of others I meet.  I will give them the kindness and tenderness that would be helpful for me to receive.

I believe this will lighten all our loads.

Because I always feel better when I see pretty plants, this is callicarpa ‘Early Amethyst’, reminding me of beauty lingering and beauty promised.

Actions

Information

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.