Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

7 06 2017

Generally speaking, I am a love-the-status-quo kind of girl. I find myself in a lather over a simple half-hour change in a scheduled appointment. A computer update will send me either into a blind rage or the fetal position. You get the gist – I am not particularly adaptable. I don’t like change.

Having admitted that, I AM trying to, well, to adapt. I know that I can get better at coping with the little (and big) changes that happen in my life. It is not easy, but I know that everyone faces changes that they don’t (think they) want and when they do, most folks don’t turn into a hungry, sleepy two-year-old.

A long time ago, when he was about six, my brother responded to another kid’s jab at the “weird color” shirt John was wearing (it was burgundy – a very new color for boy’s clothes at that time) by saying, “You have to be different to be better.”

I think that I’ll try out substituting the word “improvement” for that dreaded c-word – change. Let’s face it, most of the changes we face are not catastrophic. There is always some uneasiness, of course, but there is always some opportunity for things to be “different, but better,” if we look for it.

If you need some evidence, I present this before and after:

“Big Hair, Shoulder Pads and Angst” Early 1980’s

 

“Wrinkles, Comfort, and Relaxation” Early 2010’s

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 06 2017
dorothy e Haag

Changes can be good & your pictures are proof. Love these pictures, Paula.

8 06 2017
gbalockGeorge

I like your attitude, but some change isn’t always for the better. That is unless it makes you realize how good you had it.

I’d call my approach to change, grudgingly adaptable. If it is out of my control, I go with the flow. If it in my control, I do my best to make it mine. Kind of like the Serenity Prayer for non-believers.

9 06 2017
scorchedeyebrowstudio

George, I would never suggest that all change is good. My point is that folks like me need to stop assuming that all change is bad. I agree with your “Serenity Prayer for non-believers” approach.

Leave a Reply

