I Should Have Known!

10 05 2017

They say, “What you don’t know won’t hurt you.”

Okay, I Googled something I should have just left unknown.  Yeah, I think I was better off not knowing that a cubic yard of mulch weighs between 400 and 800 lbs.  Knowing I had at least two tons of the stuff in my driveway, waiting for me to move every one of those ten yards to my many flower and shrub beds was daunting.

 

 

 

 

 

They had a point.

 

 

They also say, “Pace yourself.” 

I can’t just let that mountain sit in my driveway, taunting me, encouraging the neighbors to think I am too lazy (or too old) to git’er done.  So, while I will allow that They might have a point with that first adage, that second one did not resonate with me.

 

They are all talk and no action!

In the last three days, I shoveled, wheel-barrowed, and spread about ninety percent of the mulch monster.  I was sure I could finish the job today . . . right up until the moment I was sure I wasn’t.  With just a few more laps to go, I couldn’t reach the finish line. I was beaten.

In the shower – leaning on the wall for support – I berated myself for being a quitter.  At least I was smart enough (using that phrase loosely) to put down the shovel before I did major injury.  I was dumb enough, though, to feel defeated because  I MOVED OVER A TON AND A HALF OF MULCH BY MYSELF IN JUST THREE DAYS!

What do I have to feel defeated about? I know people half my age who can’t carry two bags of groceries into the house.  I know lots of folks whose bodies are full of replacement parts; I’m still all original – beat up, but in working order.  I should feel grateful for my good health, even if my brain is a little iffy!

They also say, “Be kind to yourself.”

We should listen!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I am going to enjoy half a bottle of ibuprofen and try to find the energy to climb the stairs to bed.

 

Actions

Information

10 responses

10 05 2017
Martha Hess

Oh my God, look at what you accomplished!!!!! You did it and appear to still be able to move? Whew….very impressive.💪🏻

10 05 2017
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Right now, I think my fingertips are broken. You know how spring gardening season is, though!

10 05 2017
Linda Doucette

You definitely have the crazy gardening gene! Your place looks amazing. I hope you are recovered enough to put one foot in front of the other this weekend. 🙂 !!

10 05 2017
Delta

Don’t take half the bottle; remember you’re ” beat up, but in working order ” .

10 05 2017
scorchedeyebrowstudio

You’re right, Delta. I settled for four.

11 05 2017
Lois McGaw

You did a beautiful job Paula! I’m sure that Millie is proud & you should be as well.

11 05 2017
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thank you, Lois. I am glad to hear from you.

11 05 2017
June Rollins

Paula, you are the Mulch Master. This little weed-hopper is inspired. “I like to move it, move it” came to mind. Yay, for you, Paula!!!

11 05 2017
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thank you, June, for the compliment and the earworm – fun little song stuck in my head!

11 05 2017
Linda Surace

More power to you my dear. Herculean work. it will be worth the effort. Looks great and all your plants, trees, shrubs will be so thankful for your effort.

Leave a Reply

