A Month of Thanks, Version 2016 – Chapter One

2 11 2016

Well, well, well.  It’s November, Thanksgiving’s month, so I’m going to do another series of “what I’m thankful for” posts.  Before I started, I figured I should review what I’d been thankful for last November.  Thankfully, the four post subjects are still in my life and I am still thankful for them:

My mother.

Common sense.

Windows – to see the goodness around me.

You, dear readers.

Whew! They were good choices.

This year, there’s been plenty of stuff to make me (and everyone else who lives in the United States) more on the cranky-to-crazy side of the scale than the grateful-to-generous side, so I’d like to start this month of Thankfulness like this:

I am thankful that, this time next week, the 2016 presidential election will be history.

That means no more ugly yard signs blocking my view of the beautiful autumn landscape; no more dinnertime phone calls from campaigns; no more political ads.

In other words:

See no evil. Hear no evil. Speak no evil.

Sounds thanks-worthy to me!

dsc_0040

This is not an olive branch, but it surely makes me feel peaceful. Grateful for just-before-dusk light coming through my Japanese maple on a seventy-degree November afternoon. Thanks.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

