Applesauce

21 09 2016

If you were to ask me what I think about applesauce, I would tell you it’s the side dish that diners serve to folks who don’t want the coleslaw  . . .

a place holder,

insipid,

completely trivial,

EXCEPT for the applesauce made by my mother-in-law, once a year, when the Summer Rambo apples are ripe at the farmers’ market.  What comes from her kitchen, during this very short time, is more than applesauce; it is sweet, pure, honeyed smoothness with a whiff of vanilla.  It is a last taste of summer. 

I am not looking forward to the change of season, but  a spoonful of this beautiful, simple, elegant, almost-autumn essence makes it a little easier to bear,

So,

Farewell, Summer.  You’ve been lovely.  I know we’ll meet again in a few months, but I will miss you while you are gone.  Thank you – and Sue – for the applesauce. 

My father- and mother-in-law. They're mighty fine folks.

My father- and mother-in-law. They’re mighty fine folks.

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 09 2016
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA, WHAT A FINE TRIBUTE TO KEN’S FOLKS. HOW FORTUNATE ALL OF YOU ARE TO HAVE EACH OTHER. THE PHOTO IS GRAND. IT IS FILED WITH OTHERS OF YOUR FAMILY. I VISIT THEM NOW AND THEN.
I SMILE.
LOVE FROM MARIA XO XO XO XO

21 09 2016
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Dear Maria, I am very lucky to have such fine family, including you. Happy Birthday!

21 09 2016
elaine haag

I have grown to like applesauce and can only imagine the homemade version is delicious. Your father-in-law and Ken look so much alike, very handsome men, indeed.

Leave a Reply

