Book Covers

18 05 2016

This popped up in my Facebook feed a few days ago:

“An informal poll….WOMEN: when you see newswomen look like this, what thoughts cross your mind?”

5-18-16

I know what the woman who posted this was looking for in the comment section, of course; she was asking us empowered feminist warrior women to put these pretty faces and perfect bodies in their place . . .

When someone posts a photograph like this with a loaded question attached, most of us default, at least at first, to some version of “cute but dumb.” Yes, I did that, too.

Not so fast.

How hateful and narrow-minded of me.

We, who fancy ourselves as champions of equal rights for women, would not hesitate to eviscerate anyone who would post a picture of women would not qualify as classically pretty and question their ability to do their jobs based on their looks. What makes us think it’s okay to question the abilities of pretty women, just based on their looks?

I am not denying that there is a double standard with respect to newscasters’ appearance based on gender. That is not the point of this post. I simply want to share my chagrin at my initial reaction to the question posed with this image. I would hope that some of you who initially felt – as I did – that these women are not to be taken seriously because of their looks will – as I did – have a little talk with yourself about how wrong it is to judge people by their looks.

Being an old, wrinkled, smart-not-pretty woman, I know it’s hard to pass up any opportunity to put down the prom queen. She’s always had it easier because she’s pretty, right, so why not take her down a peg or two? Because it does not diminish her; it makes us uglier. Envy green doesn’t look good on anyone, so don’t drape yourself in it!

 

 

.

 

 

Actions

Information

One response

23 05 2016
Kate Rosset

so true – I did the same and caught myself Date: Wed, 18 May 2016 23:13:22 +0000 To: k8rosset@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

