February Food

10 02 2016

I love to cook good food.  I love to look at photos of beautiful food. I really love to eat good food.

So, when a few days ago, I saw a photograph of an interesting dinner offering – a wintertime beauty pageant of yellow squash with a stuffing of porky goodness – from a restaurant that is too far for me to visit, I was dismayed. I knew I had to eat that dish, but there was no recipe with the post

. . . so I did what any self-respecting foodie-glutton-pretend-chef would do . . .

I created one.

Nothing makes a delicious dish taste better than to serve it on a fabulous handmade plate. One of my favorites is by the beautiful and kind Christy Knox http://www.christyknox.com/ , so even if you’re not a fan of this kind of food, I trust you’ll enjoy perusing the gorgeous pottery at this link.

Here it is, my recipe: Roasted Butternut Squash with Sausage Stuffing and Port and Apple Cider Glaze. I just polished off a plateful and the dishwasher is humming (as am I.)

 

DSC_0011

Butternut Squash with Sausage Stuffing PKL                                       2 servings

One small butternut squash, halved, seeded; cavity ends cut to two bowls and two rings; neck peeled and cut into 1” chunks

Roast squash, drizzled with olive oil and lightly salted, at 400° for about 40 minutes, until tender. While it’s cooking, make stuffing and glaze.

Stuffing:

½ c          chopped onion

2t            olive oil

¼ c          dried cranberries

¼ c          apple cider

¼ t          thyme

¼ lb        breakfast sausage

1 slice    white bread

 

Sauté onion in olive oil to soften. Add cranberries and cider and reduce to almost syrup. Set aside.

In same pan, crumble in sausage and cook through, over medium low heat. Return onion mixture to pan and add thyme.

Tear bread into rough ½” pieces. Put in oven (while squash is cooking) to dry out for about 6 minutes. Set aside until squash is done.

Glaze:

¾ c          apple cider

2T           port

1t            honey

Reduce cider over medium heat until it reaches a syrupy consistency, swirl in port and heat to a simmer. Swirl in honey and hold sauce barely warm until time to serve.

When squash is tender, add bread to sausage mixture and cook, tossing, over medium high until it takes a little color. Cut the squash cubes into small dice and mix into the sausage mixture.  Place one ring and one “bowl” onto plate. Fill with sausage mixture.  Drizzle with glaze.

Admire your work for twenty-seven seconds. Devour with gusto.

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 02 2016
theafine

Way to go, Paula! Welcome to my club of freelance cooking! Goes with the creative turf we both inhabit!

11 02 2016
scorchedeyebrowstudio

I have always loved cooking, Teddi. Matter of fact, if I were as skilled in the kiln as I am in the kitchen, I’d be famous. 😉

11 02 2016
janice

Sounds Delicious!!! I would like this for breakfast,too……along w coconut cake;)

11 02 2016
scorchedeyebrowstudio

I love the way you think, Janice.

Leave a Reply

