Sometimes, You Feel Like a (Coco)Nut

20 01 2016

I love to cook. Baking (and eating) a real cake – NOT one from a recipe that starts “to a box of Betty Crocker, add . . .” – is pure buttered and sugared joy.  Out of (very little) respect for my and my husband’s waistlines, I try to restrict my cake baking to cake occasions; to bake one on a non-cake-occasion day would be a very wicked thing.

So, I am happy to report that tomorrow is my birthday.

Cake occasion!!!

Woohoo!!!

In years past, I have made myself German chocolate cake, hummingbird cake, peanut butter chocolate cake, pineapple upside-down cake (my dad’s favorite), to name a few. This year, it’s time for a three-layered spectacle of vanilla cake, infused with coconut milk, filled with coconut sweetness that seeps into each layer, and topped with seven-minute frosting that’s been coconutted to the nth degree.

I know lots of folks are not fans of coconut, but it’s not their birthday!  I’ll bake them something delicious from their flavor favorites when it’s their turn.

For tomorrow, though . .  .

DSC_0004

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Birthday to ME!

Actions

Information

14 responses

20 01 2016
June Rollins

Your post brought back most fond memories of helping my grandmother bake her coconut cakes. I remember watching and doing my best to help her in draining, cracking and scooping out the coconuts around her kitchen table. Still have her table…and the memories. Thank You and Happy Birthday!

21 01 2016
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Isn’t that what celebrations, large or small, are really about, June – recalling the joys we’ve experienced and relishing fond memories and making new ones, too. I’m happy my post brought back special memories for you. Thank you for sharing.

20 01 2016
Nancy Gibbs

And I hope there are many more trips around the sun for more cakes!! Happy birthday. 😊

21 01 2016
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thank you, my friend.

20 01 2016
elaine haag

My sweet friend,
Happy Birthday and I am looking forward to the cake…oh, and yes seeing you….no, eating cake!

21 01 2016
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Cake wins. Cake always wins.

20 01 2016
But

Happy Birthday🙌👏
Please send me a piece, it looks scrumptious.

21 01 2016
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Oops, I ate it all.

21 01 2016
janice

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!! So hope you have an uplifting and Truly Happy day! Cake looks Divine:) XOXOXO

21 01 2016
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Someone – I think it was the Birthday Bunny – hid some presents for me, so it was an interesting afternoon, my friend . . .

21 01 2016
Pam

Happy Birthday Paula!!!! Enjoy!!!

21 01 2016
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thanks, Pam. I am happy. Love life!

21 01 2016
lin

Happy Birthday! Enjoy your cake – there is nothing better than a proper, homemade cake. xx

21 01 2016
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thank you, Lin. Sometimes you CAN have your cake and eat it, too.

Leave a Reply

