Thanks – Chapter 4

25 11 2015

All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players . . .

William Shakespeare

Bill, you’re right; life’s one giant interconnected production and we each play our part.  Because we each view the stage from our own perspective, the stars of one person’s play are the supporting cast, extras, prop builders, and ushers in another’s.

On this day before Thanksgiving, which is, for many Americans, the biggest family gathering of the year, we don’t need to be reminded that our relatives are to be (cranberry) relished. They are well-established co-stars in our personal production.

Today, let’s scroll down those credits, past the co-stars and the guest stars,

way, way, way down to the bit players.

This is about the folks with the non-speaking roles, the walk-ons,  the occasional recurring one-lined character actor – the very thanks-worthy and often nameless-to-us supporting cast of our lives. Why should we take time to acknowledge Busboy  #2, Person Who Let Me Merge, or School Crossing Guard? Because, without these supporting characters, our play would be flat; it would lack texture.

Remember, too,  these folks are actually super stars – headliners  in their versions of this play – and we are their extras,  a point not to be taken lightly.

So, when traversing a road construction zone, I smile and nod  at Young Man Directing Traffic  and he smiles and nods back. This is not a critical plot point in either of our scripts – unless one of us happens to have really needed that split second of encouragement. Often, such a small moment will change the way I read my part for the rest of the day.

And so I close my November of thanks-worthiness with a special thank you to all of you who let me be a bit player in your oeuvre. You lift my spirits. You encourage me to keep writing. You expect me to do my best, and so I do. Some days, it’s easier than others, but every Wednesday, I try a little harder to be a little better. Thank you.

May your holiday and your life be thanks-worthy.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 11 2015
Barbara Leonard

Thank You! from a bit-part person in your life play! I am glad you are a bit-part player in mine!!
Keep ’em coming, they always make my day!

26 11 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Curtain call! Big bow!

Leave a Reply

