Thanks: Chapter One

4 11 2015

Given the disappointment (no more baseball until next year), depression (oh, Daylight Saving Time, why did you leave me?) and dismay (wait, the national elections are not until NEXT November?!) of the last few days, I’ve decided, as a kind of little pre-holiday hors d’oeuvre, to write about thanks-worthy stuff for the whole month of November.

gingko butterflies a

Gingko ‘Jade Butterflies’ leaves looking like an angel. Sweet Jessica.

Today was so beautiful, it almost didn’t seem real. The sun shone with that magic angle of autumn light that rendered everything in painterly richness. The temperature soared to the seventies. Leaves made almost bell-like sounds as they yielded to the breeze’s suggestion they let go of summer and they swirled toward the ground.

pseudolarix a

Pseudolarix amabilis – first year for these amazing cones.

Yes, we can all agree, a beautiful day is thanks-worthy, but that’s not the whole story.

After running an errand, this morning, I discovered that someone had removed some old splintery deck boards from a pile in my back yard. I suspected the culprit, made one phone call, and it was confirmed; it was my mother. She’d mentioned that she could use a few of them in her landscape and we agreed that I’d help her get them to her house . . . she did not wait for my help.

Of course, not having something on one’s To-Do list is thanks-worthy, but that’s not the whole story.

dandelion b

Live and let live! Happy dandelion puffball resting in the grass.

The truly thanks-worthy part of this story is that my mother, at age 85, drove her own van to my house, carried several 16’ deck boards around my house, loaded them into her van, and put them where she wanted them at her house – without any help.

This did not surprise me. Even though she has always been independent (as in “stay out of her way or you’re apt to get run over”), I remember not to take her good health for granted. I know many friends whose parents are gone or who are not able to care for themselves.

My mother is busy and capable and engaged every day.

That’s what makes her healthy.

That’s what makes her dangerous.

That’s thanks-worthy.

Actions

Information

7 responses

5 11 2015
janice

Absolutely LOVE hearing Mad Mildred stories!!!! Please keep them coming. And I just smile really big when you say she’s dangerous. Meeing her explains quite a bit of you my Friend…apples….or nuts. heehee XOXOXO

5 11 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Oh, Janice, I fear you’ve hit the nail on the (very hard) head.

5 11 2015
elaine haag

Yes, you are truly blessed by having such a healthy, independent mother. I love hearing Millie adventures. May we all be as healthy and determined in our later years.

5 11 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Elaine, we are each lucky to have our moms and to be as healthy as we are, too.

5 11 2015
Carol Johnson

Another great blog! I get chastised regularly for pulling more than my own weight. I’ll be 67 in about 9 days which sounded pretty old until you reminded me your mom is 85. Yikes, I’m just a pup!

5 11 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Murphy women are tough, Carol!

5 11 2015
MARIA ETTEL

A WORLD WITHOUT MILLIE, THE MAGNIFICENT WOULD BE DREARY.
JUST VIEWED HERS AND JESSICA’S PHOTOS TWO DAYS AGO.
I TOO LOVE “JADE BUTTERFLIES”. HAVE SOME PRESSED FROM LONGWOOD GARDENS.
OUR WORLDS ARE CONNECTED. I AM GRATEFUL TO SHARE.
LOVE FROM MARIA XO XO XO XO

Leave a Reply

