Belly Up

30 09 2015

What’s up with so many people erasing whole categories of tasty comestibles from their lives? I know, I know: it’s critical for diabetics to eat carefully. Yes, people with celiac disease have no choice but to forgo gluten. For the rest of us, those whose dining choices are less circumscribed, WTF?????

9-30-15 a

I’m a little on the chubby side. I know it. I could, with discipline and determination – and denial of some great pleasures – change that fact. I’ve weighed myself and the options and I have concluded that the reward of being ten pounds lighter is not worth the price of an occasional pizza and dessert.

I get it that there are health benefits from making good choices about what we eat. What I also get is that there are health benefits from feeling joy. There must be a balance between discipline and reward. Yes, bad food can ruin health, but I think what would surely kill me would be to take the joy out of living.

Some days, that joy comes in the form of three scoops of Bruster’s key lime pie!

9-30-15 b

Actions

Information

8 responses

30 09 2015
theafine

Amen, Paula! Amen!

30 09 2015
elaine haag

I’m with you on this one, Paula. A little splurge every now and then is a good thing & good for the soul.

30 09 2015
MARIA ETTEL

HERSHEY’S OR BREYERS COFFEE ICE CREAM, PAULA!! THANK YOU FOR PERMISSION. 🙂
YOUR APPEARANCE IS TERRIFIC! DO NOT EVEN GO THERE, HONEY.
LOVE FROM MY HEART–MARIA XO XO XO XO

30 09 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Dear Maria, live with gusto!

30 09 2015
Carol Johnson

It’s all in the thinking. Grapes are healthy we think……smash them for a healthy drink we call vino. Couple of glasses a day and we are happy happy happy and with gusto we say, screw the 10 pounds! Let there be joy!!

1 10 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Exactly! Cheers, Carol!

4 10 2015
tlynnb48

I have celiac’s and it’s frustrating to hear people go on the fad diet of being gluten free. Yes, you eat healthier, but damn, why torture yourself?

4 10 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

tlynnb48, it is an unfortunate side effect of all the celebrity/fad diet trends that healthy folks claiming special dietary “needs,” as a fashion statement, serve to diminish the seriousness of real illness, like yours. Too many people crying dietary “wolf!” Celiac is a tough disease, requiring serious lifestyle alterations; it takes incredible discipline. I hope you are able to manage yours with as little discomfort as possible.

Leave a Reply

