The Waiting is the Hardest Part

26 08 2015

I am not a traveler.

Let me rephrase that; I am a militant non-traveler . . . and yet, here I am, in Mexico . . .

after a four hour plane ride, an hour wait for ground transport, an hour in a 12-seat shuttle bus with thirteen other passengers, seventy-five minutes of check-in comedy, and seventeen of my in-laws.

We’re together to celebrate my dear father-in-law’s upcoming 80th birthday, which is the ONLY reason I accepted this challenge to my homebody-ness. I’m told that other folks actually do this – and I shudder as I type this – take vacations – on a regular, like annual, basis. I am dumbfounded.

It’s been eleven hours since we left for the Newark airport and I am finally reunited with my luggage. Whew, I feel some semblance of control re-entering my system.

The resort is lovely – thanks to my generous sister-in-law.

The room is spacious – thanks to my generous sister-in-law.

The booze is free  did I say thanks to my generous sister-in-law?!

Okay. I’ll make the best of it.

11949290_10153125188186342_8690250283609451022_n

Image courtesy of my brother-in-law.

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 08 2015
elaine haag

It looks devine, Paula. My advice is to drink some wine, sleep in and enjoy the sunny skies. I look forward to seeing you when you return. Until then, hang loose.

26 08 2015
theafine

You’re there! Have a good time. It’s only for a while and it’s for a good purpose. Make the best of it…….drink ……..lots!!!

26 08 2015
June Rollins

Love your humorous writing style, Paula. I think you’ll be okay 🙂

27 08 2015
dianetroutman

Glad you made it safely! Hope you are able to have a good time and relax a little!

27 08 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

In the wise words of a friend, “Una mas . . . mas cerveza, por favor!”

Leave a Reply

