Friendly Fire

12 08 2015

One of the things I’ve noticed, as I have begun to grow up, is the change in my circle of friends. I am not talking about changes caused by the inevitable job transfer or retirement move; I am talking about the selective culling and rebuilding I’ve been doing, without even realizing I was actively doing it.

Upon examination, I see that my friends share a few traits. They are highly ethical. They are kind. They are reliable. They are decent.

They are also smart.

With all those common traits, there are vast differences, too. I’ve come to realize that (by design or accident) my friends have wildly divergent viewpoints on many issues: social, political, ideological, and fluffy. They and I disagree on a lot of things and they disagree amongst themselves.

There was a time when I felt it necessary to be surrounded by friends who shared my ideas about life. To be challenged was too frightening because I was unsure of my position. Now, I realize that being challenged will either lead me to better understand why I hold a given position or it will give me insight into why I might need to modify my stance. This works for me, whether it involves the desirability of the Designated Hitter Rule or the viability of the Affordable Care Act.

My friends make me better and stronger because they’re not just like me.

They make me happy because they just like me.

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 08 2015
elaine haag

So true, my friend. I’m with you on the last line especially.

12 08 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thank you, Elaine.

13 08 2015
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA–PLEASE KNOW THAT YOUR OBJECTIVITY MAKES YOUR FRIENDS HAPPY ALSO.. SERENDIPITOUS!!!
LOVE FROM MARIA XO XO XO XO

13 08 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Maria, in all my friendship comings and goings, Hank remains in the circle closest to my heart. Thank you for raising such a fine man.

Leave a Reply

