Golden Years

15 07 2015

Let’s talk about old people.

You know, people in their Golden Years.

Those people whose kids are long grown and gone from their care.

People whose faces display the well-worn paths of Time.

People who, at their age, must spend their days eating soft foods and waiting for the Grim Reaper to come calling for them.

I remember being young and dumb enough to have felt an odd mixture of contempt and pity for retirement-agers . . . now, I am one, but this is NOT about me.

This is about my mother.

My mother redefined Golden Years this week, when she won TWO GOLD MEDALS at the National Senior Games in Minneapolis, Minnesota – Ladies Singles Bowling 85-89 age group and Ladies Doubles Bowling  80-84 age group.

Here are the details, with a nod to Sports Center’s format:

Name: Millie Krauss, a.k.a. Mad Mildred

Height: 5’5”

Weight: 140 lbs.

Age: 85, yes, eighty-five!

Sport: Bowling, right handed, four-step approach.

Equipment: 14.5 lb fingertip bowling ball (Most women half her age are rolling balls that weigh less than 12 lbs.)

Mad Mildred, in her quest for gold,  bowled a total of 21 games over 6 days, averaging over 160 per game. (Average for women across all age groups nationally is about 130!) She bested her nearest competition by 30 pins in singles and, with her partner, 99 pins in doubles.

There are many more awe-inspiring things about my mother than her bowling scores, so that should give you an idea of just how spectacular she is. Even a bad photo, like this one my cousin snapped with her phone, is worth a thousand words. It was taken right after Mad Mildred won her singles event and it shows the kind of spirit that inhabits a body that refuses to acknowledge calendar years; the joy of achieving a goal (Hell, the determination to still set goals); and the satisfaction of a job well done.

Mom won 2

As a public service announcement, I’m warning the Grim Reaper that, if he comes for Millie, he’d better be ready to find her, then catch her, and then be prepared for the fight of his career!

She’s GOLDEN.

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 07 2015
Lois McGaw

Your Mother is awe inspiring! I remember seeing her at Golds Gym training several years ago. She’s a great woman with a beautiful spirit. Go Millie!!! Pleases pass along my congratulations to her for a job very well done!!

15 07 2015
Lisa Dull

AWESOME!!!! I’m a true believe if you sit you rust and there aint no rust on Millie!! Yes I age that your age does not determine your frame of mind. Learn something new everyday and get up and move. However, I think your mom would leave me very tired by the end of the day!! Congratulations to a gold medalist!

15 07 2015
elaine haag

I want to be just like Millie when I grow up, however, it may include a set of golf clubs & some balls instead of the bowling ball. Your mother is golden and now has medals to boot. I am very happy for her because it is such a huge accomplishment and something the majority of us will ever experience. Congratulations to Millie.

15 07 2015
But

Awesome!! My new. Hero!! I have looked at the Senior Olympic Games. She gives me the inspiration to commit!!

16 07 2015
MARIA ETTEL

GO MILLIE!!
YOU KNOW WHY I NAMED HER, “MILLIE, THE KID”!
SHE IS AWESOME, AND SO ARE HER DAUGHTERS.
LOVE FROM MY HEART–MARIA XO XO XO XO

Leave a Reply

