Uphill or Upward?

3 06 2015

I enjoy seeing happy little affirmations in my social media feed. I am all for a little cyber cheerleading. I am a bit bothered, though, by the tone of some of them, like this one from #selflovemovement:

6-3 a

 

Now, before you begin your defense of this true-enough bit of 21st century wisdom, let me explain why I winced, just a little, when I read it.  This sentiment, and many others like it, seem to me to presuppose that we are struggling and life is dealing us one crappy hand after another and it’s so hard to just soldier on  through the constant battle.

Oy vey!

Even if we are in the middle of an F(eces)4 crapnado, we don’t always need to be reminded of it!

How about reminding ourselves that, even in the most difficult times, there are moments of light and joy to be grabbed and savored.  I propose an alternative, or complement, to #selflovemovement’s admonition.  I offer you:

 

6-3 maybe aa

 

I believe that one of the best things we can do for our emotional well-being is to stop listening to people who, many with the best intentions, tell us, in so many words, that life is hard. If they really want to help, they should just tell us a joke.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 06 2015
theafine

Amen, sister, amen! You are so right!

3 06 2015
MARIA ETTWEL

AH, PAULA, I AM WITH YOU 100%. MY GLASS IS ALWAYS HALF-FULL.
LOVE FROM MARIA XO XO XO XO

Leave a Reply

