Spring Cleaning and Separation Anxiety

22 04 2015

Time to tidy up, refresh, and declutter, right?  How’s that going for you?  I can hear the self-talk:

I know, it’s been in the (choose your favorite place where stuff goes to be “saved for later”) for the last twelve years, but:

It’s still got the tags on it.

It’ll come back into style.

My great-aunt’s downstairs neighbor’s brother-in-law gave it to me.

Let’s just get this right out there.

That place where you “save” the stuff that you never even look at, except when you are (theoretically) decluttering, has a name. Whether yours is a lovely walk-in closet with all the detritus neatly boxed and labeled or just a big pile-o-crap in a corner of the garage; if it’s filled with stuff you don’t use, it’s a trash bin.

It’s spring. Time to clean. Time to throw stuff away!

Commence the wailing and gnashing of teeth.  Protest that it is wasteful to throw away all this “perfectly good” stuff.  That’s like eating every last bite on your plate, even after you’re full – and ruining your health with those unnecessary extra calories – because you don’t want to “waste” food. Kids, whether you store it (fat or junk) or put it on the curb, it’s trash!

If you truly have things that someone else will use, donate them, right now. Do NOT store them, “just in case.” Haven’t you already yard-sale-d yourself stupid?  Aren’t all your relatives self-reliant and not in need of your 7-11 Star Wars Big Gulp cup with the chip in the rim? Throw stuff away!

Perhaps it’s my inner claustrophobe, or perhaps I don’t like to dust; but I am sure that, even if there’s room to store that stuff, it’s not a good idea to keep things that we don’t use.  You say you don’t want to waste anything, so you keep everything  . . . well, that is a waste . . . a waste of space.

But . . . . but . . . but . . . it’s still “good.”

Shelf life is not the same as useful life.  Seriously, some of those polyester leisure suits and Happy Meal toys might survive as long as cockroaches and Keith Richards – doesn’t mean you should let any of them live in your closet.

It’s spring – fling it!

Actions

Information

8 responses

23 04 2015
Elaine Haag

I am right there with you on this one, Paula. Now, please come over and convince my dear husband on this subject. He loves to hang onto everything, he is a sentimental kind of guy.

23 04 2015
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA–LAST YEAR I DOWNSIZED. THERE IS LITTLE IN MY DARK HOLE WHERE UNMATCHED SOCKS, ETC.,LIVE.
HOWEVER, I AM CLEANING COBWEBS AND REMOVING USELESS CLUTTER FROM MY HEART.
AHH –FEELS GREAT.
LOVE FROM MARIA XO XO XO XO

23 04 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Dear Maria, if only I’d been able to predict your comment . . . I absolutely love your turn of phrase “cleaning cobwebs and removing useless clutter from my heart.” It is my honor to claim a safe and nurturing place in your loving heart. You are in mine.

23 04 2015
janice

We downsized last year, too, and getting rid of “stuff” seriously lightened my spirit. Having rooms we did not even go in filled w furniture,….we didn’t even use made me nuts! And I felt tired just looking into these rooms. Seriously weighted me down. Once agin, you’re Right On Paula! XO

24 04 2015
June Rollins

More motivation! Thanks, Janice!

24 04 2015
June Rollins

Thanks for making me laugh, Paula 😀 Can so relate to this. I hope you have motivated me towards a major Spring Fling!

24 04 2015
Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Hehe, cockroaches an Keith Richards. He’ll fool us all and live ’til 105.

29 04 2015
Cynthia K. Prediger

Paula, a day late and a dollar short, but I am on a frenzied reading ride this year – The Life Changing Art of Decluttering, NYTimes bestseller list, has truly great insight. And that is from a girl who tosses things before she usually should, yet there is still “stuff” to clear and there are new habits to adopt. Try to give it a read! My mornings are simpler and brighter and doing the laundry is more zen. All good!

Leave a Reply

