Thanks for Asking – I Feel Great!

1 04 2015

Do You Feel Inadequate? Good.

This is the title of an article written by Rod Judkins and appearing on the website Psychology Today. https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/connect-creativity/201503/do-you-feel-inadequate-good

I am sure that Mr. Judkins, whose Google search reveals that he is a successful artist and writer of self-help-y creativity tomes, might have some good ideas, but this piece touting self-doubt as a necessary motivator for creativity missed the mark for me, to phrase it gently.

As my friend Sarah Bush, https://www.facebook.com/MakeGreatStuff?fref=nf, whose March 30th Facebook post drew my attention to the article, commented, this sounds a bit (too much) like “the old thinking that you have to be miserable to be a great artist…”

There as an enormous difference between being “smug and self-satisfied” (Mr. Judkins’s pejorative) and in just generally feeling good about yourself. Questioning individual decisions and reviewing their outcomes produces actionable information on which to base future decisions. Questioning your worth as a human being simply produces angst.

The opposite of complacency is not angst.

The urge to do better is not the same as angst.

Creativity, for me, does not flow from malaise.  Creativity is not some cruel taskmaster who forever denies approval, while demanding that I try to gain it.  Creativity, to me, is that energy – sometimes a pulse that pushes me ahead and other times, a magnet that draws me forward – that always drives me to be me.

Me – not “better me” – just me.

I am not self-satisfied, but I most certainly do not feel inadequate.  Creativity lives and thrives – with Joy, Grief, Charity, Humor, and Love – in my imperfect but totally adequate self.

Confidence does not repel creativity. Sure, it’s April 1st, but don’t be fooled.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 04 2015
A Journey With You

I agree!

1 04 2015
MARIA ETTEL

IT IS DIFFICULT FOR ME TO IMAGINE THAT CREATIVITY OF ANY KIND SPRINGS FROM A VOID.
YOU MAKE THIS PERFECTLY CLEAR, PAULA. RIGHT ON!
LOVE FROM MARIA XO XO XO XO

Leave a Reply

