28 Days of Grey

25 02 2015

All discussion of long-term climate change aside, it’s been stupid-cold for too long now.  I, like many folks, wilt during winter’s weak and brief periods of sunlight and severe and extended periods of frigid temperatures. With that admission on the record, here are

The Top Ten Reasons It’s Time For March.

10. Daylight Saving Time arrives, dropping the green flag on the race to spring!

9.   Dressing like Michelin Man to get the mail is getting exhausting.

8.   Static electricity:

I can fry the TV with an index finger, if I forget to touch other metal first.

7.   Fewer snotty noses . . . can’t vouch for attitudes . . .

6.   I look less crazy at the ice cream shop.

(I will eat ice cream in any weather; I just look less abnormal when it’s not two below.)

5.   The end of the mattress sale (and mattress commercial) season.

4.   The top news headlines won’t be dominated by meteorologists.

3.   Cars can begin to return their natural color, instead of road salt gray.

2.   February Funk replaced by March Madness.

1.   Mad Mildred (my mom) will celebrate her 85th birthday –

2-25-15 probably by bowling a 200 game.

 

February, it’s not you; it’s . . .  wait, it IS you.

You are a cold, menacing, ugly, grey jerk and I won’t miss you one bit!

Buh-bye.

Actions

Information

8 responses

25 02 2015
MARIA ETTEL

SO–MILLIE THE KID IS 85!! HOW WONDERFUL. A DAY LATE, PAULA, BUT I SEND HER HUGS AND HAPPY WISHES FOR AT LEAST 15 BIRTHDAYS TO COME.
COUNTING FROM TOMORROW, THERE ARE 22 DAYS UNTIL THE FIRST DAY OF SPRING!! CELEBRATE ALL OF IT!!
LOVE FROM MARIA XO XO XO XO

25 02 2015
Elaine Haag

Happy Birthday to Millie and I hope she did bowl to her heart’s content. I, too, will be so glad to say farewell to February and hello to March.

26 02 2015
theafine

amen to the count-down! and huzzah for mom’s birthday!!

26 02 2015
Carol

I agree BUT…..without February there would be no birthday for me….and it is all about me!!!, LOL! Great post. LOVE it!

27 02 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

There are a few good things from February, Carol, including YOU!

27 02 2015
gbalock

Love it Paula. Happy birthday to Millie (whom I have not met) and Carol (whom I think of daily now). I feel similarly to Carol about February. Without this month I couldn’t celebrate my anniversary–28 wonderful years with Judy. February does have a personality disorder, but March comes in like a lion and April is the cruelest month.

27 02 2015
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Some good, even in the darkest corner, George. Happy Anniversary!

27 02 2015
gbalock

Also, March has that ides problem.

Leave a Reply

