A Different Christmas Song

10 12 2014

Ho! Ho! Hum.

Everywhere I look, there is someone bemoaning the season.  Folks are out of sorts because they’re out of work, out of money, out of energy . . .

For many, just plain out of gratitude.

This will be the fifth Christmas without my beautiful Jessica. She was only twenty when she left us. She still believed in Santa Claus.

When I think of that enormous loss, the un-healable wound, I think I need a different Christmas song: Everything I Own https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Q1kB0R4Ijs  sounds about right. Then I remember what a magnificent gift it was to have had such a wonder-filled twenty short years.  I also remind myself that there is no going back, only going on, and that to accept the sadness but refuse all the goodness that still surrounds me is just wrong.

It stinks not to be able to fill your child’s Christmas stocking. It is lousy that you can’t get off work to visit your friends.  Things were better before you lost your job.  I don’t dismiss ANY of these kinds of problems.  I must, though, take exception to the idea that you let your holidays be defined by what you can’t do or don’t have.  In spite of the hardships, which visit every one of us, I wish you a happy season, filled with the celebration of what we DO have.

Don’t find yourself singing a different Christmas song.  Sing FA-LA-LA-LA-LA at the top of your lungs, even if your gay apparel is a few years old and your holly’s a bit wilted! Consider the people in your life who make you smile and warm your heart. Tell them.

Joy to the world.

Actions

Information

7 responses

10 12 2014
Elaine

I enjoy reading your blogs because they always give me something to ponder. Your thoughtful words, wittiness and often times bold tones always make me smile. I’m so grateful the greater powers let our paths meet.
Singing loudly in my car so nobody else can hear me…..elaine

10 12 2014
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Glad to have you as a friend, Elaine.

10 12 2014
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA–YOU WILL ALWAYS BE JESSICA’S MOM. I WILL ALWAYS E HENRY’S WIFE.
I HATE TO NOW BE CALLED, “WIDOW”. YOU HAVE SOME YEARS HEAD-START WITH THIS BUSINESS,,AND I AM HONORED TO WITNESS YOUR PLAN FOR SURVIVAL. GOOD FOR YOU!
I HAD EXCELLENT WORDS OF ADVICE FROM SOMEONE SPECIAL TO YOU. I WAS TOLD NOT TO FOLD INTO MYSELF, BUT TO LET LIFE HAPPEN.
THAT ADVICE HAS BEEN SO VALUABLE.
I JOIN YOU IN SONG. MY HEART SINGS TOO.
“A BABBLING BROOK WOULD LOSE ITS SONG WERE WE TO REMOVE THE STONES..”
LOVE FROM MARIA XO XO XO XO

10 12 2014
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Dear Maria, love right back to you!

11 12 2014
Moser, Pamela

Love this!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pam Moser | Sales Associate
Coventry HealthAmerica – An Aetna Company
Phone: 717.541.5778 | 1.800.788.7895, ext. 2175778
Fax: 1.866.804.4862 | pxmoser@aetna.com
COVENTRY DATA CLASSIFICATION: CONFIDENTIAL USE ONLY

18 12 2014
janice

Thank-You Again Paula for making me examine what’s going on around me.
I agree with Elaine as you make me smile and ponder
XO

18 12 2014
scorchedeyebrowstudio

You make me smile, Janice. I’m so glad we’re friends. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

