Mom and Apple Pie

30 04 2014

Part of growing up is competing with your parents.  It’s natural. It’s also expected that, at some point, the pupil becomes the master.  This is not always the case.

My mother never liked to cook. She did it well enough, but without enthusiasm.  We ate good food, but we did not “dine,” growing up.  I, on the other hand, delight in all things gustatory. I am the queen and commander of my kitchen. I am talented, creative, fearless, and rocking excellent, when it comes to preparing deliciousness  .  .  .  but I can NOT make an apple pie that even comes close to the ones my mother (still, at age eighty-four) bakes to delicious flaky-crusted, cinnamon-perfumed, apple-y sweet perfection.

4-30-14

I can make perfect pie crust from scratch.  I can use the same variety of apples. I have good cinnamon.  My oven is properly calibrated.  Blueberry, pumpkin, chocolate cream, pecan, peach, coconut custard: I am the master of all these, and more, but there is something about apple pie  .  .  .  mine is very good, but never as good as Mom’s.

WHY?

After years of trying, and coming up short, to recreate the perfection that is Mom’s Apple Pie, I have come to the only conclusion left to me.

She’s magic.

I’m good with that.

One of the great wonders of the world is the unending wellspring of love that pours from mothers to their children. Surely, the only explanation for that kind of emotion, the boundlessness of a mother’s heart, the ferocity of her devotion is that mothers are magic.  I don’t believe in much, but I believe my mother is magic. If you need proof, you should taste her apple pie.

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 04 2014
Jennifer Daggs

I have always had a theory that Mom’s get special magic that makes their food taste better than “non-mom’s” and when a Mom becomes a Grandmother they get even more magical powers for cooking by the time they are Great Grandmothers forget about it!!! My family is the same way, no one can duplicate my grandmothers chocolate chip cookies, yep, the same Toll House variety everyone makes, or her snickerdoodles. My Croation grandmother made a roast that she taught to each of her grand daughters. Not one of us has ever come close to duplicating it. It’s just magic! 😀

30 04 2014
theafine

Brilliantly stated, Paula! And so very accurate. It IS all about the magic — and that magic is baking with love!!! It grows and grows as you get older.

1 05 2014
MARIA ETTEL

P-MOM AND M-MOM ARE SO SPECIAL IN THEIR MAGIC, BAKING A PIE OR OPENING A MIND ARE PROOF!
I AM GRATEFUL TO KNOW BOTH OF YOU.
HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY IN ADVANCE.
XO XO

1 05 2014
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Happy Mother’s Day to you, too, Dear Maria. I know Hank’s mother is magic, too. Love, Paula

Leave a Reply

