I’m Eighteen

19 02 2014

days away from the sweet return of Daylight Savings Time, or as I think of it, Daylight Saving-My-Sanity Time.

I look forward to Daylight Savings Time with the gusto of a six-year-old counting the days until Christmas or an eighth grader impatiently looking forward to summer vacation.

I realize that one of the most important things winter does is make me appreciate spring.  Well, I assure you, I will be plenty grateful for safer driving conditions, lower heat bills, and more daylight.  While the weather will betray the calendar and display fits of cold bluster when the date suggests it’s time for the perfume of spring flowers to float on comfortably warmer breezes, one thing will not fail me – Daylight Savings Time.

Daylight Savings Time, you give me hope; you give me (an hour more) light; you are my sunshine.  I know others will disparage you for “taking an hour’s sleep” from them, but they don’t see you for the warm and wonderful friend you are.  Those night birds may never understand my love for you,

but it’s their loss – of an hour’s sleep – in eighteen days.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 02 2014
June Rollins

Counting the days right along with you, Paula! Thanks for helping me look up and realize the light is at the end of the tunnel 🙂

24 02 2014
Eva munson

I didn’t know that there was anyone who felt the same way about daylight saving time as I do. Hurrah!!!! its coming soon…..

Leave a Reply

