The Good Fight

12 02 2014

“The important thing in life is not the triumph, but the fight; the essential thing is not to have won, but to have fought well.”

This is the Olympic Creed – and, yes, I am going to take exception to it.* Surprised?  You haven’t read my blogs before, have you?

What’s your problem with the Olympic Creed, Lewis?

Well, it’s the idea that life is a fight, of course.  The important thing in life is the joy, the effort, the journey, the living; it is not “the fight.” We use militaristic analogies so often, it’s second-nature; we don’t even think about it. I want to think about it.

Words are important, so we should think about which ones we choose to use. So often, there is a positive, kind, respectful way of stating the case; why fall into negative, nasty, hurtful argument?  The aggressive language we read and hear on virtually every media makes it a hard habit to break, but I am going to try.

So, I would suggest that, while the important thing in games and sports is fighting a good fight, there’s more to life.

*I trust you know I am not really picking on the Olympics, although they HAVE preempted my beloved TV shows. There’s going to be a blizzard, tomorrow, so I am just crankier than usual.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

