Of Course, I’m a Good Witch

30 10 2013

It’s Halloween Eve, which means tomorrow will be our annual opportunity to reacquaint ourselves with the neighbors who have children.  The doorbell will start ringing about six o’clock. We have a second crop of marrieds-with-children on our street, so I expect the night will be a busy one.

We have strict rules about Halloween candy distribution at our house: kids may select anything they like from our bowl of treats, including choosing two or three, if they really want!  This is one night that’s all about being a kid. It’s extreme dress-up and treasure troves of sweet, tooth-bombing, joy in fun-size wrappers.

There are plenty of other days to teach moderation; Halloween is not one of them. Let your kids revel in the sheer excess of the evening. We were allowed to eat as much of our haul as we wanted, way back in the sixties, when I was a kid, and I don’t have diabetes and I can still reach my feet. Let the children enjoy one night of reckless sugar abandon!

My sweet Jessie loved to hand out candy on Halloween.  Just thinking of that makes me smile. Tomorrow, I am going to ooh, aah, EEEK, and applaud every kid who comes to my door – for Jessie, for the kids,  and for me.

Life will play enough tricks on you; don’t look for them and, for Pete’s sake, don’t invite them. There are a lot more treats in the world. Revel in them; enjoy the goodness with reckless abandon;  and, just like trick-or-treat candy, there’s enough to share.

Happy Halloween!

halloween 2013

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 10 2013
margaretalmon

I love the spirit with which you approach Halloween!

30 10 2013
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA, YOU ARE NOT A “GOOD” WITCH.
YOU ARE THE BEST WITCH!
JESS WILL BE ECHOING YOUR “EEKS” AND “WOWS”. KNOW SHE IS THERE.
THE KIDS IN YOUR NEIGHBORHOOD ARE SO FORTUNATE.
LOVE FROM MARIA XO XO XO XO

Leave a Reply

