Nobody – Not Even Me – Is Gonna Rain on My Parade

12 06 2013

When I was younger, I seemed never to be satisfied with my life. I had successes (like everyone), but I always seemed to focus on the stuff I could have done better. There was always the “but” after the “good job.”

Not anymore.  No “thing” is perfect, but life is.  I have weeds in my garden, but there are far more flowers.  Our family squabbles, but we laugh far more often. I am wrinkled, but I am healthy.

It’s a bad, but common, habit to see our flaws, to criticize our work, to regret; let’s just stop doing that.  Happiness breeds happiness, so I am tending my garden with joy and love.  I hope you will do the same.

This quote from my friend, Edyta Hutchman, is a new favorite:

I am brought to joy quite easily.

I’m with you, Edyta!

Joy to the world.

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 06 2013
Kevin

Too bad we don’t realize this at an earlier age. Then again, many never do grasp this, ever! Appreciate your thoughts, as always, PL…

12 06 2013
Christine Goldbeck

I am with you and Edyta, as well. Often, even when I don’t feel like smiling, I smile and this act changes HOW I feel inside. So simple a gesture …

18 06 2013
margaretalmon

This makes me think of the expression “easily amused” which seemed to have a negative connotation, but it has been a blessing to become more easily amused and prone to joy as I move through my 40s.

Leave a Reply

