Perseverance

22 05 2013

I love my gardens.  I love planting them, mulching them, weeding them, pruning them, admiring them.  I love my gardens.

About a week ago, a very late frost clobbered many tender young plants, especially my newly leafed-out beautiful ornamental trees.  I was heartsick, especially about my little sourwood. It had finally started to fulfill the promise of a beautiful growth spurt. Now, it was decimated. Every little leaf was black – killed by the post-Mother’s-Day frost. I felt stricken.

5-22-13 a

This week, the awful tragedy of the Oklahoma tornadoes slapped me into reality. I had been barely able to look at my frost-bitten trees, but, suddenly, I understood the importance of appreciating my trees that were still standing.  I strolled around my little property, concentrating on the flowers, shrubs, and trees that had escaped the freeze. Finally, I went to the sourwood, prepared to inspect its forlorn silhouette. I was so wrong. The little tree had already begun to rebuild from its own little disaster. There are green swelling buds along the branches, pushing the dead leaves aside and there are even a few already beginning to unfurl, collecting nourishment from the sunlight. That little tree was not going to give up. It’s a bit bruised, but it is growing.

5-22-13 c

Nature does not surrender. Neither should we.

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 05 2013
June Rollins

Love this! So much inspiration from looking closely into nature. Thank you for sharing, Paula!

22 05 2013
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thank you, June, for your kind comment. It means a lot; I so enjoy your blog posts – and your watercolors – and your alcohol ink Dreamscapes . . .

22 05 2013
Elaine

Well said my friends….we should never give up.

24 05 2013
MARIA ETTEL

THE SOURWOOD TREE HAS A NAME: ” PAULA”

XO XO XO N N XO

Leave a Reply

