May I Have Your Attention, Please?

1 05 2013

Some things are NOT news.

Image2

Just because a talking head tells you about something, it does not mean it’s important, so don’t let yourself be mesmerized by the 24-hour news into beginning to apply the same level of importance to every story that they shout at you.  We hear about how we’re all becoming desensitized to violence because of our exposure to fake violence in video games, movies, and television; I am worried that we are at risk of growing hyper-sensitized to “the news.”

This week, it seems there’s been as much coverage of the coming out of a professional athlete as the use of chemical weapons in Syria.  I have more in-depth information about Jodi Arias (psycho sleaze-tart) than (Secretary of the Treasury) Jack Lew.  I realize I can’t stop the media spewing tabloid-style stories, but I hope I am disciplined enough to filter out the noise from the news.

Can we please apply our own standards and ignore the garbage stories, the ones that are as low-class as gossip, as creepy as a peeping tom, as completely irrelevant to our quality of life as what kind of breakfast cereal is favored by orangutans?  I sure hope so.  Years ago, this crap was relegated to the National Enquirer; we were only exposed to it at the grocery store check-out. Now it’s everywhere, on every channel, all the time, mixed in and diluting the serious news of the day.

I refuse to let any news outlet distract me with useless (and tasteless) in-faux-mation.  I don’t need to know it’s okay for Gwyneth Paltrow to have a cigarette because she’s such a food and diet guru. Tell me what I need to know to stay safe and healthy and to (really) help my neighbors – and the weather, always, the weather.

Happy May Day!

Actions

Information

One response

2 05 2013
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA–YOU AGAIN STATE THE FACTS BEAUTIFULLY. YOU CERTAINLY SPEAK FOR ME.
BLESSINGS!
LOVE FROM XO XO XO XO

Leave a Reply

