Here’s Not Looking at You(rself,) Kid!

20 03 2013

To a woman of a certain age, there is not much that is more of a buzzkill than a mirror. Sometime this winter, I slid into the very bad habit of inspecting my face, taking stock of all wrinkles, whiskers, splotches, and other common and expected signs of my years here.

Dumb. Dumb. Dumb.

Eyeballs are owner-operated. It’s your choice whether to focus on the unattractive or the beautiful.  Everywhere I look (except the damn mirror,) I see beauty. It’s all around and it’s free. What a joy that our eyes are naturally aimed at the world around us!  Seems like we’re designed to look outward, to know there is more to this than just ourselves.

Pretty cool – and pretty.

Thank you, friends and strangers, animals and trees. Thank you, world. Here’s looking at you!

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 03 2013
Martha Hess

And here’s me looking at you; a very cool, beautiful woman!

20 03 2013
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thanks, Martha. Happy Spring.

20 03 2013
HG

Dear Paula…if you’re not seeing beauty in the mirror…your not looking deep enough!!!!!!! XO

29 03 2013
rexann

Paula I have to agree with the commenter above 110%! Ah, if we could only borrow someone else’s eyes when we pass a mirror or think about ourselves. ~ Here is a post I recently read. I loved it. If you have a chance give it a read and let me know what you think. Lots of love to you and the whole fam damily!!
http://www.stevewiens.com/2013/03/06/these-are-the-lines-of-a-story/

Leave a Reply

