It’s the Little Things

5 12 2012

Last week, I rushed my sweet old guinea pig Chuck to the vet, fearing he would not survive the respiratory infection I was sure he had. After the vet confirmed the diagnosis, an extremely serious condition in guinea pigs, I brought him home with a bottle of pet antibiotic and a heavy heart.

Five doses of medicine and a lot of worrying later, Chuck seems to have beaten the bug. He weighs only three pounds, but I feel as if the weight of the world has lifted from my heart. As I watch him happily munching on a piece of timothy hay, I can’t help but smile.

I know I will have to face his demise some time, but I am glad Chuck did not die this week.  I am glad that, even after all my years of experience and effort to develop a thick skin, I can feel affection and attachment to this little creature.

This time of year, I am especially vulnerable to self-inflicted stress – you know, the kind of stuff that finds its way onto the schedule because “It’s the holidays,”  the “obligations,” self-imposed with very little real thought as to the validity of the feeling, and the general  busy-ness that occurs simply because it is December.  I feel more than a little bit thick that I wasted so much energy fretting about silly stuff, instead of just being happy for the good fortune that is my life.

I have lots of big stuff for which to be grateful, but, right this minute, it’s the little thing – Chuck – that counts.chuck with stuffed animal 7-12

Have yourselves a merry little Christmas!

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 12 2012
Sandra Schmitz

A guinea pig?? I know exactly how you feel. We took our little girl cavy to the vet to have a tumor the size of a tennis ball removed. The vet kept saying “Don’t do anything unless it gets to a size that will make her uncomfortable.” as it was hanging under her chest, not embedded. She died on the operating table. I’m so glad for your little guy’s health. He’s living with the right family – I wish you many more happy years of cuddles!

6 12 2012
javb2000Jean Van Brederode

You have a good heart, Miss Paula. I wish you (and Chuck) the best of holidays!

6 12 2012
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA–IF YOU FIND A SITUATION WORTH “FRETTING” IT IS NOT INSIGNIFICANT. SMALL GESTURES WHICH APPEAR MEANINGLESS TO SOME BECOME TRANSMUTING VEHICLES TO OTHERS. TIME AND PLACE AND OUR VULNERABILITY CAN CREATE MIRACLES FROM VERY SMALL THINGS.
I AM SO HAPPY THAT CHUCK, ALL THREE POUNDS OF HIM, BROUGHT JOY TO YOUR LIFE. BLESS HIM!!–AND YOU!

THANK YOU FOR YOUR GOOD WISHES AND MAY JOY FIND YOU AGAIN AND AGAIN IN THESE BUSY, DAYS.
XO XO XO XO

8 12 2012
janice

I wrote a rough draft of a reply – and sent it through spell check – but really like Maria’s response much better. I Love her line of finding”joy again and again” What a loving and sweet message.
I am SO very glad Chuck didn’t die this week either.
Take care of yourself my Friend.
Love you

21 12 2012
charlotterose

You have reminded me to take a deep breath and slow down – thank you.
I am relieved for you, and for Chuck. May you both enjoy a lovely Xmas…

Leave a Reply

