To Do or Not To Do

14 11 2012

A few days ago, in the middle of I was sure was a “huge waste of time,” berating myself for my poor judgment for getting myself into something “I don’t know why I ever said I would,” and generally feeling sorry for myself; I stumbled into what one would call (if one were not the one in the situation) a teachable moment, a learning opportunity, an AHA! moment.

Oh, alright, it was more like a “D’oh!” moment.

I am a grown woman. My bills are paid. I am healthy. I am (usually) smart. I can, within reason, do what I want.  I can also DECLINE to do what I don’t want.  I can say “no.”

The simple realization that I was spending quality time in a decidedly un-quality manner, solely because I had failed to exercise that power knocked me out, then it made me laugh at myself.  I learned.

To pass the rest of the allotted time I had unwisely obliged myself to serve, and to reinforce my lesson, I made myself a nice long TO DON’T list.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 11 2012
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA–IT TOOK ME YEARS LONGER THAN YOURS TO ESTABLISH MY “TO DON’T LIST”.
ISN’T IT FREEING?
WE ONLY “GIVE” OUR BEST WHEN WE GIVE IT WITHOUT RESERVATION OR HESITATION. WHEN EITHER OF THOSE COME INTO QUESTION, IT GOES TO THE “OTHER” LIST.
I AM NOT HERE TO “FIX” EVERYTHING.
BLESSINGS!
XO XO XO XO

21 12 2012
charlotterose

A “To Don’t” list – I love it!!

22 12 2012
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thanks, Charlotterose.

Leave a Reply

