Fear is a Mother

22 08 2012

“I am afraid I will end up like my mother.”

I have been hearing this comment a lot lately. I hear it directly from acquaintances.  I hear it from strangers to their friends on line at the grocery store, at the hairdresser, at the bank.  I hear it as people walk by, talking on their cells.  It makes me sad.

“I’m afraid I will end up like my mother . . .”  In what way?

Frail?       Unhappy?         Senile?      Frightened?

What do so many women see in their mothers that cause such concern and why do so many see themselves following the perceived unfortunate path?  I try to understand, but I really can’t.

You see, I am afraid I will NOT end up like my mother. I am fortunate beyond measure to have a mother who is strong, optimistic, smart, and afraid of absolutely nothing.  The only fear I have, relative to her, is that I will not be able to live up to the example she (still, at age 82) sets.

If you are a mom, do all you can to take the best care of yourself you can. Good health and a strong and lively mind are great gifts to your children. If you do not have children, remember and respect the people in your world who love you and need you; take great care of yourself, too.

Women are strong and smart from the beginning.  We must stay that way throughout our lives.   We must respect ourselves and preserve and use our power to do good in the world.  The lives of others depend on it – and us.

Have no fear.

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 08 2012
MARIA ETTEL

MILLIE THE KID ROCKS!!
I SHOULD BE SO GIFTD.
XO XO XO XO

28 08 2012
Erica Shaffer

I am filled with joy every time I am aware I am “just like my Mom”. Lucky me! 🙂

29 08 2012
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Erica – light, love, beauty, joy – if that’s your mother, then you sure are just like her!

Leave a Reply

