It’s the Real Thing

15 08 2012

I am not a brand – I am a person.  Yes, there are some descriptors that are appropriate to me, but they are not me.  From day to day – sometimes, moment to moment – I can float, leap, or grind my gears amongst competing labels.  Everyone does. What describes us, does not always apply, and it surely does not define us.

Given this most natural tendency to be many different things, it’s odd to me that lots of Tweets and blog posts and e-mails and Pins, lately, have been offering to make my “social media presence” easier by developing and maintaining consistent content delivery.

What?

Really?

The internet is already an extraordinarily impersonal medium.  Now, the suggestions swirl that I should automate my Tweets, use a Virtual Assistant to post “my” Facebook status updates, get guest bloggers to write my posts – I don’t think so. No thanks.

For me, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, and all the rest of the town square/local bar/congregation/campfire  social media sites are really just long-distance versions of town squares/local bars/congregations/campfires.

I am not a brand.  I am a person.  When I post something – brilliant or bullshit – it is me, not some programmed list of ready-to-post Pablum sent via ether alarm clock.  If folks follow, read, share, or friend/unfriend me, it is really me. As the internet displaces more and more face-to-face relationships, I hope many folks will remember we are not brands.  We are people whose moods and waistlines and fears and desires change.

I am not “consistent content” and, unless you are really a Brand with a capital B (Danielle LaPorte and Alyson Stanfield, for example,) I hope you will share enough of you to allow me to make that distinction.

Sure, under the law, corporations are people, but I am not moved to Friend one.  Let’s be friends.

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 08 2012
Angela

So true Paula! You are You and that is branding enought, right?! Keep the post, blogs, tweets and pins coming from you, because your followers love the real you.

15 08 2012
Wayne

Do you think I could find a virtual goof-ass to take over my Facebook posts? I do use a website to send out tweets while I am teaching, but I place them into the site by myself.

16 08 2012
paula lewis

Wayne, that wording would surely get lots of attention in the classifieds, but a “goof-ass” would not do for your FB posts; you’ll have to look at the smart kids. I always enjoy your writing.

15 08 2012
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA–I AM NOT THE SAME PERSON DAY-TO-DAY. SOMETIMES I AM NOT THE SAME PERSON HOUR-TO-HOUR. SOMETIMES I LIKE ME; SOMETIMES I DON’T. I ALWAYS LOVE ME.
I LOVE YOU, TOO, IN THE FINEST WAYS, PAULA.
MARIA XO XO XO XO

16 08 2012
paula lewis

I love you too, Dear Maria.

Leave a Reply

