Pretty is Enough

11 07 2012

It is arts festival season. For me, that means time on both sides of the booth – exhibiting as an artist at a select few shows and shopping as an avid collector and consumer at a select few.  Because I make art, when I am shopping for art, I hear some conversations a bit differently than many art show visitors.

I’d like to gnash my teeth and tear my hair in a dramatic rendition of all the insensitive, rude, stupid, mean things people say to artists at these shows . . . No, I would not like to do that.

I’d like to beat my chest and thump the podium in a speech calling out artists for all the insensitive, rude, stupid, mean things they say about visitors at these shows . . .  No I don’t want to do that either.

I’d like to encourage everyone to visit at least one event where people are offering the works they imagined, planned, and executed – works of art that are available to all of us only because that artisan dreamed it, made it, and has the courage to put it out into the world. YES!  That’s what I want to do.  I’d like to encourage artists, those of us who just have an undeniable need to create, to give in to that need and to give the muse the spotlight whenever you can.  Yes, that’s what I want to say.

I’d like most of all, on this glorious summer day, to remind us that, just as we don’t have to be astrophysicists to enjoy the beauty of the blue sky and warm sun, we do not have to be scholars to enjoy art.  I don’t understand how my computer works, but I happily use it to enhance my everyday life.  Same way, I don’t know how potter and lovely person Christy Knox made my favorite mug,  but I know my morning coffee is always more pleasant when drunk from it.

When you go to a fine arts festival (and you really must not miss the experience,) don’t fret over what “good” means. It’s okay – pretty is enough.  If it makes you smile, warms your heart, or calls you to your better self, or if you just think it’s pretty, buy yourself some made-by-the-person-right-in-front-of-you art.

Don’t be afraid. If you like it, just buy it.  Trust me. I’ve done it before. I liked it so much, I’m gonna do it again!

Find me and my hand fired one-of-a-kind copper enamel collages at these fine summer shows:

Pennsylvania Guild Fine Craft Fair (Booth 318) http://www.pacrafts.org/fine-craft-fairs/july/

Fine Crafts at the Winery (http://www.bucksguild.org/Winery2012/index.htm)

More shows in the fall. Info will be available at www.facebook.com/scorchedeyebrowstudio.

I’ll be spending money on fine handmade-in-the-USA one-of-a-kind works of art at these fine summer shows:

Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts  http://www.arts-festival.com/

Mt Gretna Outdoor Art Show  http://www.mtgretnaarts.com

Actions

Information

5 responses

11 07 2012
MARIA ETTEL

PERHAPS WE SHOULD REMEMBER THAT AN ARTIST PLACES A BIT OF HIS/HER SOUL IN EACH OFFERING, THAT ALONE IS WONDERFUL.
I STILL HAVE A POM POM CHRISTMAS ORNAMENT HANK MADE IN FIRST GRADE. I WORE TO CHURCH, WITH GREAT PRIDE, A CARNATION HE MADE OF KLEENEX FOR MOTHER’S DAY. I STILL SEE THE UNFORGETTABLE SMILE ON HIS FACE.
WHERE WOULD YOU PLACE THE PRICE TAG?
THANK YOU, PAULA, FOR THIS FINE REMINDER, AND I WISH SUCCESS IN ALL YOUR UNDERTAKINGS AT THE ART SHOWS.
LOVE FROM MY HEART. XO XO XO XO

11 07 2012
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Maria, you gave Hank the confidence – by your unwavering love – to be an artist. I will always love “Man on the Road.” Love to you, Dear Maria.

12 07 2012
Wayne

Oh, and I was so looking forward to saying stupid things when I stopped by your booth at chase. Margaret is flying solo on Saturday, but we will both be there for set up and again on Sunday. See you soon

19 07 2012
Arsonette Artworks

Hear hear! And good luck at the art shows! Due to the small locational hitch of me living over the pond in bonny England I won’t be able to visit any of the shows you are visiting but I wish you luck! (And profit!)

21 07 2012
Linda Klipple Surace

Paula,
I thank you for stopping by my booth at CPFA, two years in a row…Thanks for the comments of appreciation on my work….It’s A Linda Handwovens is where you will find me on facebook..

Leave a Reply

