When You Give, You Get (Lots More!)

4 07 2012

My sister called me late last month to ask whether I could repair one of the art enamels I’d given her; she’d dropped and broken it.  The piece was a very early work, not one I was particularly proud to have hanging on her wall, anyway, so I was not sorry to hear it was a goner. I was sorry that she felt bad about it.

It’s already July and I have four fine craft shows on my schedule – two in August!  Miss Muse has been conspicuously absent for much of the early summer and I had begun to stress, well more like panic, about my paltry inventory. I felt like I could not afford to give up even one piece, but Phyllis never refuses when I need her, so I did the only thing I could do – I gave her another piece.  The moment I gave it to her, I knew it was the right thing.

The piece was a new work, one I was very pleased with and one she had commented on when she helped me at my last show.  I had initially thought I HAD to have that piece for my August show. It was one of a new series of just a few pieces and I needed it to give the display the proper cohesive feel.  Boy was I wrong!

Since giving Phyllis that piece, Miss Muse has been alternately dancing for joy and cracking the whip.

I am making new work.

I am finishing work that had been ignored for weeks in the studio.

I wake up with ideas and ambition.

I have seven (7!) new pieces completed and several more good works will be ready for show time.

Give ‘til it hurts? Nah.

Give ‘til it feels great.

Actions

Information

5 responses

5 07 2012
Bobbi

We tend to forget about chain reactions. You had a great one; a creative nuclear explosion.

5 07 2012
lindabillet

This isn’t just a freak incidence. I see this happening all the time. When I move on what I FEEL rather than what my limited intellect makes me SEE, I always am happy with the outcome. Nine out of ten people would tell you to make something for your sister after the show which is also a “right” answer. My gut never steers me wrong. Even though I have this lesson under my belt, I was needing this post as a reminder TODAY! Thank you.

5 07 2012
Katie Margolis

And you’ve passed it on by sharing this post. You’ve inspired me to get working!

5 07 2012
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA—GIVING “ALWAYS” FEELS GREAT. IT’S THE SHARING OF ONESELF WHICH BRINGS ITS OWN UNSOUGHT REWARD. HEAR YOUR LOVING, GIVING HEART.
LOVE FROM MINE. XO XO XO XO

5 07 2012
Erica Shaffer

love this! giving always opens beautiful new pathways. it creates energy. xoxo

Leave a Reply

