Go Ahead, Spoil the Child

13 06 2012

I was raised in the 50’s and 60’s by two happily married parents in the days when Dad earned the living – and it was a nice one – and Mom was a stay-at-home housewife.  Many of my generation might recall being taught to speak when spoken to, be damned grateful for the roof over their heads, respect their elders (whether they deserved it or not,) to keep up with their chores, and to not whine.

My parents, who never realized what rebels they were,  taught me to speak thoughtfully and truthfully, to appreciate what life and the people with whom I share it gives me, to respect myself, to share my good fortune, to be helpful, and to be happy.

Not all kids who are spoiled are brats.  Mom and Dad gave me everything I wanted that was in their power to give. That taught me that love means generosity and attention to and concern for the well-being of others.  They did it without yelling and without hitting and without belittling me, my sister, or my brother.

I think my parents were the best role models I could have had. They walked the walk of loving kindness and selflessness that makes a family strong.  I do my best to live up to their example.  It is a high bar and I don’t always succeed, but their gift of unrelenting love always rights me and gives me courage and strength to do better every day.

Between this Mother’s Day and Father’s Day and always, thanks, Mom and Dad.

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 06 2012
Margie Fultz

Thanks, AGAIN, Paula, for reflecting on MY life, as you write about yours. You speak the truth once again.

14 06 2012
MARIA ETTEL

I KNOW THAT MILLIE’S HEART SWELLS WITH PRIDE TO KNOW SHE IS , IN PART, RESPONSIBLE FOR THE FINE PERSON YOU HAVE MADE YOURSELF, PAULA.
THIS IS ALSO THE PERFECT EULOGY FOR YOUR DAD.
YOU ALL ARE SO FORTUNATE TO HAVE EACH OTHER.
I AM PRIVILEGED TO KNOW ALL OF YOU.
LOVE FROM MY HEART– XO XO XO XO

Leave a Reply

