A Winning Friendship

30 05 2012

I love sports metaphors.  I can’t help myself, hard as I’ve tried. With that admission out of the way, here comes the pitch.

I am a problem-solver by nature. Whenever I hear a story of trial, peril, discontent, or anything other than unmitigated bliss, my brain kicks into “what to do to fix this” mode.  Now, when someone wants help to fix something, I am a pretty great ally – I have skills. I am a really good coach.  I can draw up effective and imaginative game plans, teach fundamentals, push players hard to get their best performance – win.

Sometimes, though, people are not looking for a game plan to defeat a problem. They just want to pour that problem into a vessel to have a different perspective on it; they want a wall to bounce it off; or a diary to lock it away for a while. They need comfort in their troubled state, not a 3D schematic of how to get out of it. That’s when I need to change uniform.

It took me a long time, and my own experience in learning to communicate my own needs to my dear husband (who is also a great coach,) to figure this out.

Sometimes, we need a coach.

Other times, we need a cheerleader.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go find my pompoms.

Actions

Information

One response

30 05 2012
MARIA ETTEL

YOU ARE THE BEST WITH OR WITHOUTR POMPOMS!!
BLESSINGS! XO XO XO XO

Leave a Reply

