The War That Wasn’t

9 05 2012

That’s what this “war on women” should be, folks.  The biggest enemy of women’s rights – however you wish to define that term – is women, ourselves.  For a few weeks, I have been listening intently to the language of hate and misinformation flying from both extremes of the political continuum, and I HAVE HAD IT!

Let’s get this straight, ladies, for all our sakes.  We are all beings with two x chromosomes, but that is where the similarity ends. We are not sheep, we are not a voting bloc, we are not a target demographic; we are individuals who have the right and duty to make our own individual choices about how we live our lives.  Whenever anyone – including a women’s group or organization – claims to speak for all of us, cry “Foul!”

I do not fit into any of the categories that seem to be trying to collect me; do you?  I agree with and support ideas and goals of many diverse groups.  I also believe some of the things that come from those same groups are utter nonsense. We have the power to exercise our personal line-item veto.  Let’s use it.

Oh, and let’s talk choices.  The purveyors of the “war on women” tactic present us with a false dilemma.   We face different circumstances, so when my choice differs from my friend’s choice, it does not mean one of us is wrong.  It simply means we, as individuals, are choosing according to our individual situation.

My choice is to dismiss politicians who would sort me according to which restroom I use. I’ll celebrate my friends and family, who are secure enough in their own good sense and sense of self to not feel threatened by the personally-determined choices of others to walk different paths.

I will not be a weapon in an imaginary war.

Peace.

Happy Mother’s Day (to all working, stay-at-home, alternative, traditional, single, student, breast-feeding, bottle-feeding, adoptive, loving moms.)

Actions

Information

4 responses

9 05 2012
Lois Quigley

Well said!! I agree!

10 05 2012
janice

Oh Paula, you’ve done it again! Thank-You!!! And I love your Happy Mother’s Day message
XO XO XO

10 05 2012
Katie Margolis

Here Here!

12 05 2012
MARIA ETTEL

BLESS YOU, PAULA AND A HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO YOU, PHYLLIS, AND DEAR MILLIE THE KID! XO
MARIA

Leave a Reply

