It’s NOT Too Late

11 04 2012

Thirty years ago, my younger sister did something that completely confounded me; she quit her very good job to go back to school – to get her master’s degree.  Even stranger, she suggested that I go back to college, too.  She said I should complete my undergrad, which I had hastily and ill-advisedly abandoned, after one semester some ten years earlier.  I was, for many reasons, not in any position to comprehend the idea, so I balked. “Phyllis, it’s too late. I am twenty-eight years old!  What could I possibly get out of college at my age?” She knew I would always feel like a quitter, unless I went back to school, so she smiled and retorted calmly, looking me right between the eyes, “Oh, how about self-respect?” I was enrolled at Penn State less than a month later.

Now, at fifty-eight, I am again going to do something that I had earlier thought was an opportunity missed.  I am going to quit my traditional job to do things that are interesting and important to me.  If you have the luxury of being able to choose between two good options, choose the one that speaks to your real self, not the one you put on your business card, not the one you show to your neighbors, not the one your parents/spouse/preacher/teacher/boss expect you to be.  Listen to yourself, unfiltered by others’ expectations.

I know this is the right thing for me.  Again, my brilliant sister has played an enormous role in my decision.  This time, it was not her words.  It is the way she lives her life, on her terms, guided by her principles, and with great joy.  Phyllis, thanks to that push you gave me thirty years ago, I can, again, choose to follow your example.  Even though it’s taken me longer to take this path, I know it is not too late.  Self-respect was the first step.  Now it’s time for self-acceptance.

Actions

Information

7 responses

12 04 2012
Erica Shaffer

Beautiful, brave and aware.

12 04 2012
Katie Margolis

Hooray, Paula. You deserve happiness and creativity. I raise my glass to your courage!

12 04 2012
MARIA ETTEL

TODAY IS HE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF YOUR LIFE.
YOU GO, GIRL!!

XO XO XO XO FOR PHYLLIS XO

12 04 2012
Ken Lewis

You’ve inspired me — I’m retiring also….

12 04 2012
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Okay, Mr. Smarty-pants, when you’ve done your 25 years, you can retire, too.

12 04 2012
Jean

Thank you for this reminder Paula! I earned my bachelors in 2005 with that same attitude— it is not too late!

13 04 2012
janice

BOOYAH PAULA!!! I am THRILLED for you! XO XO XO

Leave a Reply

