You are HERE.

21 03 2012

As the suggestion of an internet art buddy group, I just finished reading one of those self-help/discover-your-joy/find-your-real-self books.  This one, folks who’ve read it said, brought them amazing life-altering results.  What I discovered was truly amazing.

What a revelation to find – in print, in someone else’s words, in a book endorsed by many as life-altering – that I’m already doing it!  I am living my joyful real-self life!

There was no epiphany, no tragedy, no life-altering event that caused me to begin to attend to my well-being.  It just seemed to happen that I have become more aware of what I want to do and how I can actually do those things. (It also just seemed to happen that I became aware that nobody was going to do them for me!)

I find myself wincing a little when I hear someone groan, “I need to get a life.”  This journey we’re all taking – with scenery that is sometimes uninspiring and traffic that’s frustrating and unexpected detours that take us out of our way – IS our life!    Since I want the journey to be part of the fun, I think I will dance along my path.  I know the view will be ever-changing, but I am looking forward to it.  I only need to keep moving toward the life I want and I will be there at every step.

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 03 2012
Effy Wild

I’m so glad you’re feeling validated by it. xo

21 03 2012
Erica Shaffer

Good stuff. Dance! 🙂

22 03 2012
janice

Hey Toots, can’t remember if I shared the below w you…it’s from a Women’s Day magazine. I liked it so much I included it on my “vision board” that is in my bathroom and greets me every morning. Sounds very similar to what you already knew and do. XO

Being successful isn’t always about what you achieve.
Growing up isn’t about reaching some final destination,
but about negotiating all the twists and turns in the road,
pausing here and there to listen to the soul’s quiet direction,
and learning to trust the signposts that point the way to our
own deeper callings.
True success doesn’t have much at all to do with accomplishments
and almost everything to do with creating a life that feels like a fit
with who I really am.

22 03 2012
Jean Macaluso

Thanks for this reminder as I try to dance, pause, turn, and even struggle through life–it all makes it interesting and your own unique experience.

23 03 2012
MARIA ETTEL

YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW DELIGHTED I AM TO WATCH YOU DANCE ALONG YOUR WAY AND EXPERIENCE EVEN THE ROCKS IN YOUR PATH WITH A SONG IN YOUR HEART.
STOP BY MY SPECIAL PLACE WHEN YOU CAN TAKE A BREATHER. THE WELCOME SIGN IS POLISHED FOR YOU. XO

Leave a Reply

