The Importance of Getting Up Early

14 03 2012

I was so excited for this week – Daylight Savings Time AND I had a nice little blog post almost ready to go before the clock had to be set forward.  Congratulations to me. Then, I woke Sunday morning to read this beautiful, sad, happy memoriam, written by my friend Dave Wiltsey.  I was so moved by this, I knew I had to share it with you. With his gracious permission, here is Dave’s touching farewell to his friend, his beloved pet.

This morning I slept in……..

by Dave Wiltsey on Saturday, March 10, 2012 at 11:07pm ·

This morning I slept in, because I didn’t have to get up early to let you out and feed you breakfast.

I didn’t have to check your water bowl to make sure it was filed with fresh water.

I didn’t have to lint-roll my shirt to get your hair off because you jumped up on me on the couch after I got home from work for our daily snuggle time.

When we went out to run errands, or go out to dinner, or meet friends, we didn’t have to plan our schedule to make sure you got dinner on time or got let out.

I didn’t have to wipe up all the water off the bathroom floor after you shook-off after your bath.

Today I didn’t sit in the living room and hear your toenails on the floor as you followed Lori around, hoping she would be going to the kitchen and that it might somehow result in you getting a morsel or a treat.

Tonight I didn’t have to put my jacket on and take you for a walk and worry about you trying to eat every stray piece of food someone may have discarded.

Tonight I didn’t have to call you to come upstairs when it was time for bed, and put up the baby gate to keep you from wandering out of the bedroom or close the bathroom door to keep you from pulling stuff out of the trash.

And right before I fall asleep, I don’t have to try and remember if I set my alarm clock for the morning, to do it all over again.

I don’t have to do any of this anymore……….but I wish that I did because I loved doing it and I loved you!

Today I will cry, but I know that someday soon, I will smile and remember how lucky I was to get up so early for you.

Actions

Information

One response

14 03 2012
Dana Zimmerman

Awww…I’m in tears. Heartbreaking and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

