Word Fails Me . . .

25 01 2012

I love seeing the beautiful images shared on Pinterest.  It would be nice to be able to click through to find out more about the original posts, but I have been stopped in my (mouse) tracks more than once by a few poorly-chosen letters!

I took French in high school, almost forty years ago.  I don’t remember much, but I do remember a lovely exclamation, one that is handy and meaningful in my artsy endeavors.  Loosely translated, it means, “Look at that!”

It’s Voilà!

Not “Viola!”  That would be an excited small purple flower or angry stringed instrument a bit larger than a violin and, please, under no circumstances ever, type “Wa-la!” (The voice in my head automatically translates that to “Well, lookie there!”)

You don’t have to write French to have superb taste.  You do have to NOT mangle French (or any other language, including English) to have any shred of credibility with me and a coven of other snooty internet bitches.  No matter how stunning the image you post, no matter how brilliant your boards, you will be a Pinterest pretender unless you say what you mean and spell (correctly) what you say.

Voilà!

C’est facile, n’est pas?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

