The Art of the Bathroom

7 12 2011

“She can always put it in the bathroom, if she doesn’t like it,” I overheard someone remark about a gift of art she was considering.

REALLY????

The bathroom is the first place my eyes focus in the morning and the last light I turn out at night.

I LOVE the art in my bathroom!

Even for some of us who don’t think twice about putting another picture hanger in the wall, the bathroom is still less well-dressed than the rest of our home.  I decorate my house to suit me. After all, I live here!  Why would I hang a nicely framed original work in my little-used living room and then put an “everyone has these” predictable print (that matches the shower curtain, of course) in the room where I say my good mornings and good nights?  I wouldn’t.  As long as the medium can withstand the humidity (the piece won’t melt or run,) if I like it, it’s fair game for me. There are no other rules.

Go ahead. Put some art in your most functional of functional rooms.  They deserve be decorative, too – and I am not talking about air freshener/night lights – I mean put something on those walls that is meaningful and uplifting, that gives you joy.  You’ll be more decorative, too, if you start your morning smiling.

Art makes me smile.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

