Appreciate – an Active Verb

13 07 2011

Waaaaaa!  I’m Sick.

Well, suck it up, Sister.  It’s Wednesday – blog day – so get on it.

Can’t I just skip it this one time?  I’ll do it next week, I promise.

There might not be a next week.  Do you really want to have reneged on a promise to yourself to be the last thing you ever do?

Don’t be so melodramatic.  You’re just bullying me and I’m sick.

I know you’re feeling lousy.  Your head hurts, your eyes are bleary, your ribs are sore from coughing; however, you will feel physically better in a few days. You’ll feel personally worse if you fail in keeping your promise to yourself.

Man, I HATE when my inner adult makes sense to me when all I want to do is retreat to my inner six-year-old.  I realize that one of the things I take most for granted is my health.  How angry I get when I wake up feeling less than great.  How entitled I feel to feeling good. Wow.

More surprising than taking my good health for granted is how ungrateful I am for it when I feel great.  I never get up in the morning, take a deep wheeze-free breath, clearly hear the birds outside my window, and think, “I feel GREAT!  Isn’t this marvelous?”  Conversely, I am all too aware of something being “off” – some warning signal of an impending illness – something to inconvenience self-important me.

Today, I am trying to learn from my temporary infirmity.  I can neither whine nor curse my way to wellness.  I can follow my doctor’s advice, take my medicine, and wait out this bug. More importantly, when I do feel better, I will take a moment every day to actually notice how good I feel.

When something is going as it should, it often gets taken for granted. It should be actively appreciated.

Even though her life certainly did not go as it should have, I appreciate the memories of every day I had with my beautiful Jessie, who has been gone from our house for almost a year but remains in my heart every moment.

I will appreciate my good health, my good marriage, my good family, my good friends, my good memories, my good life.

Actions

Information

One response

13 07 2011
Jean Macaluso

Well said! Thank you Paula! Jean Macaluso

Leave a Reply

