Altered Perspective

2 03 2011

I woke this morning with a start, sure I must have turned off my alarm.  The room was glowing.  I checked the clock, rubbed my eyes, then realized the joyful truth.  The days are getting longer. Winter is packing its ratty bags to head south!  I know there will be travel delays and re-routes, so we will likely have to deal with Winter’s slovenly ways a few more times until we are free of its unpleasant demeanor and nasty temper for a few lovely months, but there is evidence his ticket has been purchased. 

My hellebores are starting to unfurl themselves at my studio door.  They are just crinkly little stubs of deep green and port wine red now, but they are the promise of the beauty to come. 

Daffodils have burst through the crusty mulch that took so many beatings with snow and ice and wind these last few months. I am thrilled even by the newly-sprung weeds (a love affair that will be short-lived, to be sure!)

March is the time of year that reminds us that life is hard, but rewards us for enduring.  Hardships try to freeze our enthusiasm, bury our resolve, darken our souls.  We don’t let them.  As sure as the Earth’s tilted perspective always gets around to bringing us spring, we find warmth in friendships to rekindle our spirit, help from neighbors to move us forward to better days, and we adjust our own perspective to bring into focus to all the good in our lives.

Bring some good to the lives of those around you this spring.  If you spread love and help others, you might encourage a weed or two, but your garden will be beautiful.

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 03 2011
Jennifer Daggs

I completely understand what you are saying today. My daily commute takes me through fields that I’m now starting to see green plants perking up. I’m also driving past fields full of canadian geese while V’s of snow geese fly overhead. The birds are singing in the morning as I get ready for work and my grandmother’s 4 o’clocks are starting to poke out in my front garden again. It’s signs like these that remind me that time moves on and things are continuing to move forward.

2 03 2011
Lois Quigley

I’m with you there, I can’t wait for spring!!!

2 03 2011
wlg5011

As the Winter-loving (insane) friend that you endure, I will concede that Spring is a beautiful time of new beginnings and hope splashed with colors long forgotten.

I still love snow.

2 03 2011
Jean Van Brederode

Ah yes! The promise of renewed life once again delivered. This is my favorite time of year as I watch each little sprout emerge from the frozen earth. Life is good; SPRING is almost is here!

2 03 2011
Bobbi

INSPIRING !!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

