This December

22 12 2010

This December, there are no lights on our house, no tree twinkling with colors, no stockings hung on the mantel, no freshly baked cookies, no Jessica.

No, wait, of course, there’s Jessica!

There’s Jessica in every gift we give to our family and friends.
There’s Jessica in every luminary shining at Children’s Lake.
There’s Jessica in every ring of a Salvation Army bell.
There’s Jessica in every holiday greeting exchanged among neighbors.
There’s Jessica in every happy moment we share.

Mothers who have lost children feel an indescribable void. We must fill that emptiness with things that honor our child, even if it feels painful to try, so this December, I will light our luminaries with all our neighbors on Christmas Eve; I will find comfort in the closeness of my family; and I will keep love and joy in my heart, where my Jessica stays with me forever. She will like that.

We are far better people than we could ever have been had we not known Jessie. Every heart she’s touched – and she could reach you with just a smile – carries her beautiful spirit.

Merry Christmas.

Actions

Information

5 responses

22 12 2010
linda billet

YES! She’s def here. I swear I was just thinking about her before I opened this blog. I am absolutely a wiser and better human bean for having known Jess Lewis. I am grateful to be schooled regularly by her brilliant mom too.

22 12 2010
Donna Damgaard

Thoughts are with you. Peace. Hope. Love.

22 12 2010
Tammy Estep

“Angels come to visit us, and we only know them when they are gone.”

-Author Unknown-

23 12 2010
Jean Van Brederode

Blessings to you this Holiday Season, my friend!

24 12 2010
scorchedeyebrowstudio

To my chagrin, when I went to set them out, I found our luminary pots had disintegrated! Two lovely neighbors graciously shared theirs with us. I set them out this afternoon, and when I went out to light them this evening, I saw someone had done it for me. What a nice gesture. I know Jessie is happy the neighborhood is aglow with friendship and love tonight. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

