I Hope You Get What You Deserve

14 07 2010

I hope you get what you deserve! 

How many times have you heard someone spit out that phrase as a curse?  Since my sweet beautiful daughter has been stricken with a completely senseless vicious cancer, I have so often wished that she only got what she deserved. 

It has come into my consciousness that there are many sweet beautiful young women who do not understand what it is they deserve.  Somebody – an old battleaxe like me – should explain why they should demand what they deserve and settle for nothing less.  

Okay, children, here it is. In my curmudgeonly fashion, I choose to start with what you DO NOT deserve.

What  you do not deserve:

to be disrespected – pay no attention to those who would drag you down to their level.

to be hurt – not negotiable, period.

to be ignored – stand up for yourself.

What you deserve:

to be honored – start by honoring yourself.

to be taken care of – take care of yourself first.

to be treated as well as you know you treat others.

I know you, you sweet beautiful young women (and young men, too) and I am positive that, if you pay attention to the value of what you bring to the world, you will surely hold out for – demand and relish – what you deserve.

I hope you get what you deserve.

Love, Paula

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 07 2010
Jen

I so needed to read this today! Thank you! You are a Goddess of Worldly Wisdom.

14 07 2010
Wendy

Someday, my beautifully kind and wise friend, when I get the classroom that I deserve, This will be required reading!

15 07 2010
lindabillet

I bought all of it except the part about the author being a battleax. I know better. ;0)

15 07 2010
Erin Keck

Paula, You are such a special lady. I wish that you could get what you deserve…Erin

Leave a Reply

