Don’t Waffle about Waffles*

26 05 2010

I invited one of my daughter’s visiting nurses to stay for breakfast one day last week. 

“I’m making waffles.” 

“No, thanks,” she hastily replied, not looking up from her paperwork.

I began to work, heating the waffle iron, beating fresh eggs until they were light as air, whisking the dry ingredients together  .   .  .  she looked up.

“You’re MAKING waffles – from scratch?!?”  As I measured the buttermilk and melted a whole stick of real butter – the secret ingredient – she said, “I think I’ll stay, if you don’t mind.”

I love to cook.  Sharing the food I prepare so carefully is one way I show my affection for others.  My Jessica loves a party, so we had a fabulous mid-week breakfast celebration with our last-minute guest.

Life is full of wonderful moments; we just have to seize them.  You may have another way of connecting with your friends, neighbors, relative strangers (and strange relatives.)  The medium does not matter; it only matters that, when there is a wonderful moment to share, never miss the opportunity.  Jessica, pictured below, taught me that!

*The Waffles                     from my original 1963 McCall’s Cookbook  

1 c flour, whisked together with ½ t salt, ½ t baking soda, ½ t baking powder

2 large eggs

1 c buttermilk

½ c (1 stick) butter, melted

NOTE: if you don’t have real butter, don’t waste your time with this recipe!

Heat a good non-stick round waffle maker set at medium high. 
Whisk eggs in a large bowl until they are very light and foamy – elbow grease and a balloon whisk will be rewarded.  Alternately fold into the eggs the dry ingredients, in thirds, and buttermilk, half at a time, until just blended.  Stir in cooled melted butter.

Bake on preheated waffle iron per manufaturer’s instructions. I use a scant third of a cup on my Cuisinart round waffle maker on heat setting 4 (out of 5).  This is a crisp (from the butter) light (hand-whisked eggs) delicious waffle that is good enough to eat plain – but can stand up to some serious syrup, too.

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 05 2010
Jennifer Daggs

Perhaps it’s my immigrant family roots, but I love to share a great moment with friends, family (even strange ones) and strangers over a great meal. As my Croatian grandmother always said “Eat! Eat!” Sharing a great recipe in the process just makes it all that much more memorable. There’s something satisfying to my soul to feed the stomach with something good.It’s not just the process of consuming the food but making it. I too love to make things in the kitchen with my kiddo. Going to have to try that waffle recipe one of these days! Yummm!

26 05 2010
Jean Van Brederode

It took me a long, long time to appreciate the act of preparing a single meal for hours. My mother always took so much pride in the details – combining food colors, complementary flavors, table settings. It’s a shame in this world of fast food that we seem to have lost that joy. Thanks for the reminder about the pleasure in the prep!

26 05 2010
linda billet

I have no interest in cooking anything but glass. However, I agree about the wonderful moments. Everyone has them. Not everyone is able to seize them. I am SO happy you can! Keep on seizing, girlfriends! Woot Woot!

27 05 2010
Barbara Schane Jackson

There seems to be L’Ecole des Deux Gourmandes forming in your kitchen! Nothing creates a moment and forms a memory quite like the aroma of an heirloom recipe in the making (of which real butter is absolutely a necessary constituent:). Of all of our senses, the sense of smell has the greatest power to evoke emotion and memory. Not only have you seized a moment, I suspect you have created a lovely memory. We need to have Nancy embroider “Memory Makers, L’Ecole des Deux Gourmandes” on matching aprons for you two ladies!

16 06 2010
Marti Mallette

Loved that one too! I shared that day when I went back into the office and raved about your amazing waffles and then I proceeded to pass out copies of your divine recipe. I have been making them once a week for my my daughter since then…and yes as Barbara cited…you created a lovely memory. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

