Don’t It Always Seem to Go, You Don’t Know What You Got ‘til It’s Gone

29 01 2014

Sing it to me, Joni!

For years, I felt the truth and the sting of Ms Mitchell’s anthem to blown opportunities, ruined relationships, ships that sailed without me. Well, I have changed my tune. Matter of fact, my tune just decided to change itself, thankfully. I don’t know whether or not I’d ever have been smart enough to do it, consciously, but I am grateful for the change. Here’s why.

A whole lot of grief and aggravation is caused by stuff we should let go:

Stuff that has outlived its usefulness (if it ever had any).

Stuff that clutters our view of a brighter future with shards of the past.

Stuff that, if we are honest with ourselves, was never worth what we thought it was, at all.

I clung to my job, for example, longer than I needed, out of fear that, without some external entity verifying my worth, in dollars and cents, that I would have none.  I clung to relationships that had run their course, out of fear that I would lose “friends.”  I clung to ideas about my place in the world, my limitations, and my weaknesses, because they were ready excuses to stay comfortably and predictably unsatisfied.

Not anymore!  I am singing a very different song.  As I admitted, this was not the result of some act of conscious soul-searching – I just lucked into the revelation.  I wish you the same stroke of luck.  By saying goodbye to the stuff that does not really REALLY fit who you feel like being – and that is completely up to you – there’s room to explore stuff that makes your heart sing, and that’s a song that even Joni Mitchell can’t improve.

Sing it to yourself.

Actions

Information

6 responses

29 01 2014
MARIA ETTEL

YOU ARE A WISE WOMAN, PAULA.
YOU SING!
YOU SHINE! XO XO XO XO

29 01 2014
Lois McGaw

You are so wise, my dear friend Paula. I found this blog especially inspiring. I enjoy all of your blogs, but this particular one hit home…Thank you!

30 01 2014
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thank you, Lois. That means a lot to me.

29 01 2014
Kelly Hubler

Very inspiring Paula!

30 01 2014
janice

I agree with Lois as this is a very timely blog for me as well. I am quite shocked at how peaceful I feel after retirement. There was a lot of toxic junk at work – some I was aware of but some just settled in without my knowing. I am SO excited about my next phases and new adventures!! A great deal of “housecleaning” has been done within the last couple of years. I feel so much lighter. XO XO XO

30 01 2014
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Thanks, Janice. I am so happy that retirement for you is proving to be as grand as it has been for me. New adventures, indeed!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 432 other followers

